Forum Super Search
Posting Date From:
Posting Date To:
Train Type:
ONLY with Pic/Vid:
Sort by: Date:     Word Count:     Popularity:     
Public:    Pvt: Monitor:    RailFan Club:    

Full Site Search
Sun Feb 19, 2017 20:29:28 ISTHomeTrainsΣChainsAtlasPNRForumGalleryNewsFAQTripsLoginFeedback
Sun Feb 19, 2017 20:29:28 IST

Blog Entry# 2060434  
Posted: Nov 15 2016 (11:48)

1 Responses
Last Response: Nov 15 2016 (11:54)
Info Update
Nov 15 2016 (11:48)  

PKV*^~   19075 blog posts   72 correct pred (79% accurate)
Entry# 2060434            Tags   Past Edits
Below is the list of all railway ministers of India, appointed to head Indian Railways, the premier transport organization of the country, the largest rail network in Asia and the world’s second largest under one management:
Years Railway Minister
1947 (Nov.) John Mathai (not formally designated the Minister for Railways) presents the first Railway budget for independent India
1948-1952 N Gopalaswamy Ayyangar;
worked on consolidating the various railways into the zonal railways
1952-1956 Lal Bahadur Shastri; resigned in 1956 taking responsibility for three fatal railway accidents
1956-1962 Jagjivan Ram
1962 Sardar Swaran Singh
1967?? Kengal Hanumanthaiah (Note: Some sources suggest he was Railway Minister later, in 1971). Ram Sew Singh is also mentioned in some sources as a railway minister in 1966-1968, he may not have been a Cabinet minister for railways.
1968 Cheppudira Muthana Poonacha
1969 Govinda Menon Panampilly
1970-1971 Gulzari Lal Nanda Note: Kengal Hanumanthaiah may have been the Railway Minister briefly in 1971.
1972-1973 Tonse Ananth Pai
1973-1975 Lalit Narayan Mishra; killed by a bomb blast 2-Jan-1975, at the opening of a railway line in Samastipur.
1975-1977 Kamlapati Tripathi (again briefly in 1980?)
1977-1979 Prof. Madhu Dandavate
1980-1981 Kedar Pandey (Kamlapathi Tripathi briefly in 1980)
(1981?) 1982-1984 ABA Ghani Khan Chowdhury.
1984 Bansi Lal; his was a brief stint during a reorganization of some ministries and government departments
(1985?) 1984-1989 Madhav Rao Scindia
1989-1990 George Fernandes
1990-1991 Jnaneshwar Mishra; very short tenure
1991-1995 C K Jaffer Sharief
1995-1996 Suresh Kalmadi (briefly), followed by Atal Behari Vajpayee also briefly, who held the Railways portfolio along with being PM.
1996-1998 Ram Vilas Paswan
1998-1999 Nitish Kumar
2000 Mamata Banerjee
2001-2004 Nitish Kumar
2004-2009 Laloo Prasad Yadav
2009-2011 Mamata Banerjee
2011-2012 Dinesh Trivedi
2012-2012 Mukul Roy
2012-12 C.P.Joshi
2012-13 Pawan Kumar Bansal
2013-13 C.P.Joshi
2013-14 Mallkarjun Kharge
2014-14 D.V.Sadananda Gowda
2014-till date Suresh Prabhu

Nov 15 2016 (11:54)
Indian Railways the life line of our Nation~   11160 blog posts   136 correct pred (83% accurate)
Re# 2060434-1            Tags   Past Edits
From 2017 we urgently need a new Rail Minister

ARP (Advanced Reservation Period) Calculator

Reservations Open Today @ 8am for:
Trains with ARP 10 Dep on: Wed Mar 1
Trains with ARP 15 Dep on: Mon Mar 6
Trains with ARP 30 Dep on: Tue Mar 21
Trains with ARP 120 Dep on: Mon Jun 19


Rail News

New Trains

Site Announcements

  • Entry# 2165159
    Feb 15 (09:53AM)

    A minor update, but may impact many members: Hereafter, FMs will be able to delete invalid Red Flags on Imaginary trains. Red Flags can be removed by FMs, only against specific complaints filed against the blog. This does not give all members the right to complain against EVERY single red flag they...
  • Entry# 2155798
    Feb 08 (11:40AM)

    -@all members: As of recently, there has been a trend whereby minor name updates of Trains/Stations - whether such and such regional name should be there or not, whether the train should be called "Abc Express" or "Abc Superfast Express", etc. are threatening to take over the majority of Timeline entries. Also,...
  • Entry# 2147631
    Feb 01 (11:05AM)

    A new experimental feature is being introduced called BotD - "Blog of the Day". The rules are: . 1. Replies are not eligible - only the Top Blog. 2. ONLY Blogs posted today (the day of the vote) are eligible. 3. Every member has ONE vote. In the course of the day, you may keep...
  • Entry# 2136570
    Jan 23 (12:25AM)

    Several new features have been introduced recently to the Forum, and we are forever striving to make Member experience here more productive and satisfying. With the recent introduction and success of the new FM System, it has been observed that small groups of highly involved and enthusiastic members are far more...
  • Entry# 2134907
    Jan 21 (02:46PM)

    It has been over 2 weeks since the appointment of the current batch of FMs and 750 Complaints have been handled so far. It gives me immense pleasure in congratulating them for running the team diligently, professionally, competently and above all, without a shred of controversy or bias. The FM position...
  • Entry# 2133126
    Jan 20 (01:29AM)

    The modification to the TL Update scheme - i.e. the introduction of the new RAC System - has led to some efficiency with TL Updates. More TLs are being discussed, and quickly moved up. However, we still have on Average, about 300 Waitlisted TLs in the backlog at any time, and our hard-working and diligent TLMs...
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom

Go to Mobile site