Forum Super Search
Posting Date From:
Posting Date To:
Train Type:
ONLY with Pic/Vid:
Sort by: Date:     Word Count:     Popularity:     
Public:    Pvt: Monitor:    RailFan Club:    

Full Site Search
Sat Aug 19, 2017 07:48:27 ISTHomeTrainsΣChainsAtlasPNRForumGalleryNewsFAQTripsLoginFeedback
Sat Aug 19, 2017 07:48:27 IST

Blog Entry# 2054655  
Posted: Nov 10 2016 (11:26)

No Responses Yet
Rail Fanning
Nov 10 2016 (11:26)   11078/Jhelum Express | STLI/Sithouli (2 PFs)

prasoonwap4~   260 blog posts   197 correct pred (56% accurate)
Entry# 2054655            Tags   Past Edits
All About The Train:-
Jhelum Express - झेलम एक्सप्रेस
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯
The Jhelum Express (Hindi : झेलम एक्सप्रेस) is a daily train on the Indian Railways. It runs from Pune, the Cultural Capital of Maharashtra to Jammu Tawi, the Winter Capital of Jammu and Kashmir; in North India. Moreover, the train is strategically important; as is connects the Headquarters
of the Southern Command of the Indian Army, Pune, with an important border city.
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯
The Jhelum Express is one of the oldest trains originating from Pune. This train was started in 1977. It was the first train connecting Pune to the Capital City of New Delhi. The train was initially started for the army. The Indian Army is a big organisation unit of India.
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯
The train was given the name "Jhelum" as the River Jhelum is a notable river in Jammu and Kashmir. The Up train; Pune - Jammu Tawi has the number 11077, while the Down train; Jammu Tawi - Pune is numbered 11078.
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯
The Up train heading for Jammu Tawi leaves Pune at 17:20 hrs. It arrives New Delhi on the next day at 20:45 hrs, and Jammu Tawi on the third day at 09:20 hrs. The Down train leaves Jammu Tawi at 21:45 hrs and arrives New Delhi at 10:00 hrs; the next morning. Finally it reaches Pune at 14:35 hrs on the third day.
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯
After leaving Pune, it halts at Uruli, Daund, Ahmednagar, Belapur, Kopargaon, Manmad, Nandgaon, Chalisgaon, Pachora, Jalgaon, Bhusaval, Burhanpur, Khandwa, Chhanera, Harda, Timarni, Banapura, Itarsi, Hoshangabad, Habibganj, Bhopal, Vidisha, Ganjbasoda, Bina, Lalitpur, Babina, Jhansi, Datia, Dabra, Gwalior, Mureina, Dhaulpur, Agra Cantt, Raja-ki-Mandi, Mathura, Faridabad, Hazrat Nizamuddin, New Delhi, Subzi Mandi, Narela, Sonipat, Ganaur, Panipat, Karnal, Taraori, Kurukshetra, Ambala Cantt, Ambala City, Rajpura, Sirhind, Khanna, Ludhiana, Phagwara, Jalandhar, Tanda Urmar, Dasuya, Mukerian, Chakki Bank, Kathua, Samba, Vijaypur Jammu, and finally terminates at Jammu Tawi. Thus the passes through the states of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan (a small portion while passing through Dhaulpur), Haryana, Delhi NCR, Punjab and Jammu and Kashmir. Thus, the train traverses a distance of 2177 km. in 40 hrs.
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ¯¯¯¯
With the doubling and electrification of Daund - Manmad section and Jalandhar - Pathankot - Jammu Tawi section, the Jhelum Express is expected to run faster; with comparatively less running time. Moreover, with the completion of the Jammu Tawi - Udhampur - Katra section in 2013, the train is also expected to be extended to Katra.

ARP (Advanced Reservation Period) Calculator

Reservations Open Today @ 8am for:
Trains with ARP 10 Dep on: Tue Aug 29
Trains with ARP 15 Dep on: Sun Sep 3
Trains with ARP 30 Dep on: Mon Sep 18
Trains with ARP 120 Dep on: Sun Dec 17


Rail News

New Trains

Site Announcements

  • Entry# 2175399
    Feb 23 2017 (01:22PM)

    There has recently been a lot of frustration among RFs when their Station Pics, Loco Pics, Train Pics get rejected because the "number is not showing", "shed is not visible", the loco/train is at a distance, Train Board is too small, "better pic available", etc. . To address this issue, effective tomorrow, ALL...
  • Entry# 2165159
    Feb 15 2017 (09:53AM)

    A minor update, but may impact many members: Hereafter, FMs will be able to delete invalid Red Flags on Imaginary trains. Red Flags can be removed by FMs, only against specific complaints filed against the blog. This does not give all members the right to complain against EVERY single red flag they...
  • Entry# 2155798
    Feb 08 2017 (11:40AM)

    -@all members: As of recently, there has been a trend whereby minor name updates of Trains/Stations - whether such and such regional name should be there or not, whether the train should be called "Abc Express" or "Abc Superfast Express", etc. are threatening to take over the majority of Timeline entries. Also,...
  • Entry# 2147631
    Feb 01 2017 (11:05AM)

    A new experimental feature is being introduced called BotD - "Blog of the Day". The rules are: . 1. Replies are not eligible - only the Top Blog. 2. ONLY Blogs posted today (the day of the vote) are eligible. 3. Every member has ONE vote. In the course of the day, you may keep...
  • Entry# 2136570
    Jan 23 2017 (12:25AM)

    Several new features have been introduced recently to the Forum, and we are forever striving to make Member experience here more productive and satisfying. With the recent introduction and success of the new FM System, it has been observed that small groups of highly involved and enthusiastic members are far more...
  • Entry# 2134907
    Jan 21 2017 (02:46PM)

    It has been over 2 weeks since the appointment of the current batch of FMs and 750 Complaints have been handled so far. It gives me immense pleasure in congratulating them for running the team diligently, professionally, competently and above all, without a shred of controversy or bias. The FM position...
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom

Go to Mobile site
Disclaimer: This website has NO affiliation with the Government-run site of Indian Railways. This site does NOT claim 100% accuracy of fast-changing Rail Information. YOU are responsible for independently confirming the validity of information through other sources.