Search Trains

Train Details
In-Coach Catering/Pantry Car
Rake Reversal at Any Stn
With RSA
# Halts: to 
Trvl Time: to  (in hrs)
Distance: to  (in kms)
Speed: to  (in km/h)

Departure Details
Include nearby Stations:      ONLY this Station:
Dep Between:    
Dep PF#:
Rake Reversal at Dep Stn

Arrival Details
Include nearby Stations:      ONLY this Station:
Arr Days:
Arr Between:    
Arr PF#:
Rake Reversal at Arr Stn

2-month Availability Calendar
Full Site Search
Tue Jan 16, 2018 23:18:39 ISTHomeTrainsΣChainsAtlasPNRForumGalleryNewsFAQTripsLoginFeedback
Tue Jan 16, 2018 23:18:39 IST
PostPostPost Trn TipPost Trn TipPost Stn TipPost Stn TipAdvanced Search
Foundation dates of various Railway Zones  
2 Answers
Apr 16 2013 (20:57)
Railway Sites/Portals

Entry# 1538     
Charm Totally Vanished*^~
Foundation dates of various Railway Zones

Info Update
Sep 28 2015 (17:41)
Blog Post# 1602221-0     
Saif Ali^~   Added by: Vijeth Bharadwaj*^~  Sep 28 2015 (20:38)
Zone formation
Around 1950, legislation was passed allowing the central government to take over many of the independent railway systems that were in operation.
In 1951, the following zones were created:
SR — April 14: From Madras & Southern Mahratta Rly., South Indian Rly., and Mysore State Rly. (about 9660 km).
— Nov. 5: From the GIPR, the Nizam's State Rly., and the Scindia and Dholpur Rly. (about 8690 km).
WR — Nov. 5: From the BB&CI Rly., the Saurashtra, the Rajasthan, the Jaipur, and the Cutch Rlys. (about 9120 km).
In 1952, the following zones were created:
NR — April 14: From the Jodhpur Rly., Bikaner Rly., three divisions of the East Indian Rly. north-west of Mughalsarai, and the Eastern Punjab Rly. (about 9670 km).
ER — April 14: From the rest of the East Indian Rly. (east of Mughalsarai) and the Bengal Nagpur Rly. (about 9120 km).
NER — April 14: From the Oudh-Tirhut Rly., the Assam Rly., and the Kanpur-Achnera section of the BB&CI Rly. (about 7660 km).
In 1955, the South-Eastern Railway is carved out of ER:
SER — August 1: ER retains three divisions of the old East Indian Rly. and the Sealdah division of the old Bengal-Assam Rly. (about 3740km); the rest becomes SER (about 5380km).
In 1958, the Northeast Frontier Railway was carved out of NER:
NFR — Jan. 15: the former Assam Rly. lines in the Pandu region are split off from NER to become the NFR (about 3730km).
In 1966, South-Central Rly. was carved out of SR:
SCR — Oct. 2: The former Nizam's State Rly. network (by then the Secunderabad and Solapur divisions of SR) and part of the former Madras & Southern Mahratta Rly. (by then the Vijayawada and Hubli divisions) are split off from SR to become the South-Central Rly. (about 6070km).
Source:- click here

★★★  General Travel
Apr 16 2013 (20:54)
Blog Post# 724867-0     
Ketan Chaoji   Added by: Charm Totally Vanished*^~  Apr 16 2013 (20:57)
Foudation of various zones:
1. Central CR 05-11-1951
2. East Central ECR 01-10-2002
3. East Coast ECoR 01-04-2003
4. Eastern ER 04-1952
5. North
Central NCR 01-04-2003
6. North Eastern NER 1952
7. North Western NWR 01-10-2002
8. Northeast Frontier NFR 15-01-1958
9. Northern NR 14-04-1952
10. South Central SCR 02-10-1966
11. South East Central SECR 01-04-2003
12. South Eastern SER 1955
13. South Western SWR 01-04-2003
14. Southern SR 14-04-1951
15. West Central WCR 01-04-2003
16. Western WR 05-11-1951
17. Metro Railway, Kolkata MR 31-12-2010
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom

Go to Mobile site
Disclaimer: This website has NO affiliation with the Government-run site of Indian Railways. This site does NOT claim 100% accuracy of fast-changing Rail Information. YOU are responsible for independently confirming the validity of information through other sources.