News Super Search
Posting Date From:
Posting Date To:
IR Press Release:

Full Site Search
Sat Nov 25, 2017 15:26:36 ISTHomeTrainsΣChainsAtlasPNRForumGalleryNewsFAQTripsLoginFeedback
Sat Nov 25, 2017 15:26:36 IST
Advanced Search
Trains in the News    Stations in the News   
<<prev entry    next entry>>
News Entry# 286818
Nov 26 2016 (07:57)  Indian Railways wins Nehru Cup (
News Entry# 286818     
   Past Edits
This is a new feature showing past edits to this News Post.
Posted by: rdb*^  132881 news posts
Indian Railways rode on a double penalty corner strike by defender Amit Rohidas to win the 53rd Nehur Senior hockey tournament here on Friday, defeating last year’s runner-up Punjab National Bank 4-2 in the title clash at the Shivaji Stadium.
PNB twice went ahead — both times through Gagandeep Singh — opening the scoring as early as the fourth minute after earning a penalty stroke. Both times Rohidas helped the railways side come back and level the scores through penalty corner conversions in the 10th and 30th minutes as the teams went into half time tied on 2-2. Post break, Railways attacked more, even as PNB kept getting pushed into its own half, and reaped the rewards through India international Jasjit Singh
and Rajin Kandulna, the final goal coming in the dying seconds of the game.
Gagandeep and Jasjit were named best player of their respective sides in the final. Indian Railways walked away with a prize purse of Rs. 2,50,000 while PNB got the runner-up cheque of Rs. 1,50,000.
The result (final): Indian Railways 4 (Amit Rohidas 2, Rajin Kandulna, Jasjit Singh) bt PNB 2 (Gagandeep Singh 2). — Special Correspondent
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom

Go to Mobile site
Disclaimer: This website has NO affiliation with the Government-run site of Indian Railways. This site does NOT claim 100% accuracy of fast-changing Rail Information. YOU are responsible for independently confirming the validity of information through other sources.