Travel Tip
 Conf TL
 RF Club
 FM Alert
 FM Approval
News Super Search
Posting Date From:
Posting Date To:
IR Press Release:


Everyone is a gangster (Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Tejas) until the real Gangsta (Vande Bharat) walks in 😂 - Mushfique Khalid

Full Site Search
  Full Site Search  
Mon Jul 13 07:25:50 IST
Advanced Search
<<prev entry    next entry>>
News Entry# 412785
Jun 30 (23:13) New Railway Line between New Piduguralla – Savalyapuram Completed & Accorded Permission for Train Operations- Constructed as part of Nadikudi - Srikalahasti New Railway line Project (
SCR/South Central
IR Press Release

News Entry# 412785  Blog Entry# 4660090   
  Past Edits
Jul 01 2020 (10:34)
Station Tag: Nadikude Junction/NDKD added by SunRisers Hyderabad ™^~/1757335

Jul 01 2020 (10:34)
Station Tag: Sri Kalahasti/KHT added by SunRisers Hyderabad ™^~/1757335

Jul 01 2020 (10:34)
Station Tag: Savalyapuram/SYM added by SunRisers Hyderabad ™^~/1757335

Jul 01 2020 (10:34)
Station Tag: Piduguralla New Junction/NPGRL added by SunRisers Hyderabad ™^~/1757335

The new railway line between New Piduguralla – Savalyapuram for a distance of 46 Kms has been completed and commissioned for train operations. This new railway line is a part of Nadikudi – Srikalahasti new railway line project in the state of Andhra Pradesh. The maximum permissible speed with which trains can be operated in this new non-electrified railway line
is at 80 Kmph.
The new line between New Piduguralla – Savalyapuram will facilitate direct traffic movement from Secunderabad to Dhone direction via New Piduguralla, bypassing Nallapadu junction. This 46 Kms new rail line will reduce the distance by approximately 96 Kms for the rail travel between Secunderabad to Dhone via Nadikude as compared to the earlier route passing through Nallapadu.
Nadikudi - Srikalahasti new railway line project is o­ne of the important & prestigious projects taken up in the State of Andhra Pradesh by South Central Railway connecting interior regions of Guntur, Prakasham and Nellore Districts o­n the rail map. The project was sanctioned in the year 2011-12 for a distance of 309 Kms at an estimated cost of Rs.2289 Cr under 50 % cost sharing basis between Railways and Government of Andhra Pradesh along with provision of required land free of cost by State Government.
The project is being executed in 5 phases :
Phase-I: Piduguralla – Savalyapuram (47 km)
Phase-II: Gundlakamma – Darsi (27 Km)
Phase-III: Darsi – Kanigiri (52 Km) & Venkatagiri - Alturipadu (15 Km)
Phase-IV: Kanigiri – Pamuru (35 Km) & Atluripadu - Venkatapuram (43 km)
Phase-V: Pamuru – Obulayapalle – Venkatapuram (90 km)
The project has been taken up for the expansion of rail network in Andhra Pradesh State and it is conceptualized as an alternate route to the present Coastal Railway line between Vijayawada and Chennai. The present route is saturated and sometimes is subjected to cyclone and floods, resulting in serious rail traffic disruptions. The proposed new line will not o­nly act as an alternate route but will also facilitate freight transport in this mineral rich belt, besides offering scope for substantial passenger traffic. The project o­nce completed, will serve as the shortest route between Guntur and the temple town, Tirupati.
Shri Gajanan Mallya, General Manager, South Central Railway has congratulated all the Officials and staff of Guntur Division, Construction organization who have played key role in successful completion of this vital Project in Andhra Pradesh region. He opined that completion of this project has paved way for smooth and timely running of freight trains as well as enhancement of passenger trains. He also advised to maintain the same tempo in execution of the work for the entire project which will help in developing the region and will ease out the traffic congestion.
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom
Go to Mobile site
Important Note: This website NEVER solicits for Money or Donations. Please beware of anyone requesting/demanding money on behalf of IRI. Thanks.
Disclaimer: This website has NO affiliation with the Government-run site of Indian Railways. This site does NOT claim 100% accuracy of fast-changing Rail Information. YOU are responsible for independently confirming the validity of information through other sources.
India Rail Info Privacy Policy