News Super Search
Posting Date From:
Posting Date To:
IR Press Release:

Full Site Search
Wed Jan 24, 2018 05:59:12 ISTHomeTrainsΣChainsAtlasPNRForumGalleryNewsFAQTripsLoginFeedback
Wed Jan 24, 2018 05:59:12 IST
Advanced Search
Trains in the News    Stations in the News   
<<prev entry    next entry>>
News Entry# 288847
Dec 16 2016 (16:07)  South Central Railway getting ready for Cashless Transactions (
back to top
SCR/South Central  -  IR Press Release  

News Entry# 288847     
   Past Edits
This is a new feature showing past edits to this News Post.
Indian Railway is gearing fully to act in tune with the Government of India which is steering Indian Economy to the more progressive Cashless Transactions system. Indian Railwayhas decided to install Point of Sale(POS) machines at various locations under its Zones to allow cashless transactions using debit/credit/rupay cards. State Bank of India has been mandated to install 10,000 POS machines at various locations in the country. Already card transactions are going for railway reservation, but o­nly o­ne counter was allotted for swiping machines, which now has been extended o­n a war
footing basis, to facilitate more passengers across several PRS (Passenger Reservation System) counters.
Arrangements are in full swing to install 113 POS machines at 109 PRS counters across 6divisions of SCR in another two or three days. Keeping in view of the heavy passenger turnout in Twin Cities, 30 POS machines are installed in all the railway stations including MMTS stations. All types of credit/debit/rupay are permitted for purchasing tickets. In the SCR zone, 57% tickets are sold o­nline (IRCTC) and 43% are from PRS counters.
The transactions made through POS machines are safe and secure. It also saves time not o­nly for the staff at the counters, but also for the passengers standing in long queues. It also solves the problem of liquid cash. Moreover the entire process is transparent which avoids any sort of irregularity.
POS machines are allotted to different locations of all the six divisions of SCR as follows;
Vijayawada Division(31 locations) :
Vijayawada, Satyanarayanapuram, Benz Circle, Bhavanipuram, Eluru, Tadepalligudem, Nidadavolu, Tanuku, Rajahmundry, Amalapuram, Samalkot, Kakinada Town, Kakinada Port, Yanam, Annavaram, Tuni, Anakapalli, Gudivada, Machilipatnam, Bhimavaram Town, Bhimavaram, Palakollu, Narasapur, Tenali, Bapatla, Chirala, o­ngole, Singarayakonda, Kavali, Nellore, Gudur.
Nanded Division(10 locations) :
Mudkhed, Adilabad, Nanded, Gurudwara Nanded,Purna, Parbhani, Jalna, Beed, Aurangabad, Nagarsol.
Guntakal Division(17 locations) :
Dhone, Gooty, Guntakal, Yadgir, Raichur, Mantralayam Rd,Adoni, Yerraguntla, Cuddapah, Pulivendula, Renigunta, Srikalahasti, Tirupathi, Tirumala Hills, Chittoor, Ananthapur, Dharmavaram.
Guntur Division(3 locations) :
Guntur, Nalgonda, Nandyal
Twin Cities(31 locations) Hyderabad Division :
Sitaphalmandi, Arts college, Jamai Osmania, Vidyanagar, Kacheguda, Malakpet, Dabirpura, Yakutpura, Uppuguda, Falaknuma, Kamareddy, Nizamabad, Basra, Mahboobnagar, Kurnool Town.
Secunderabad Division :
Hyderabad, AP High Court,Telangana Assembly, Mehdipatnam, Khairatabad, Lakdikapul, Necklace Rd, Begumpet, Nature cure Hospital, Fateh Nagar Bridge, Bharat Nagar, Borabanda, Hi-Tech City, Hafizpet, Chandanagar, Lingampalli, Vikarabad, Bidar, Parli vaijanath,Tandur, Sanjevaiah Park, James Street, Secunderabad, Moula Ali (ZTC), Kazipet, Warangal, Mahbubabad, Bhadrachalam Rd, Khammam, Ramagundam, Manchiryal, Sirpur Kagaznagar.
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom

Go to Mobile site
Disclaimer: This website has NO affiliation with the Government-run site of Indian Railways. This site does NOT claim 100% accuracy of fast-changing Rail Information. YOU are responsible for independently confirming the validity of information through other sources.